Healing the Past With Reiki

Today I took an unplanned detour to the house where I lived from 4th through 8th grade. Fittingly, the property is now a junkyard. However, the old shack where we used to live still stands. I parked the car and let the memories flow. Five years of memories. None good. (Well, maybe one – picking blackberries with my brother, from the giant bush in the backyard, to put on our cereal.)

As I write this, I feel certain that my little field trip was Divinely guided. I realize now that as I sat in my car, looking through a chain link fence at the house where I never felt safe or protected, I didn’t feel the sorrow that I expected to feel. I didn’t re-live any of those old feelings of inadequacy, anger, fear or regret. I simply sat, looking, accepting.

Then, I called my Reiki Guides and Healing Angel Helpers and I asked them to help me send Reiki to the little girl who used to live there. I asked that everyone in that time and place receive healing for our highest and best good. The Reiki flowed swiftly and powerfully from my hands and my crown chakra. I’m not sure how long I sat there, but eventually I think I felt the little girl inside of me breathe a sigh of relief. She knows now that she is loved. She is safe. She is protected.

Namaste.

Leave a comment